January 10, 2023 3 min read

Missouri STEM Signing Day & Scholarship Award

Friday, April 28, 2023  


Just like signing days for athletes, Missouri STEM Signing Day celebrates Missouri high school seniors as they make their commitments to study a STEM field– science, technology, engineering or mathematics – at a 4-year or 2-year college or technical school. The Missouri Chamber Foundation’s Missouri Mathematics and Science Coalition launched Missouri STEM Signing Day in 2019 to raise awareness of STEM pathways for students beyond high school.  Powered by the Boeing Company and Missouri’s business community, the program continues to celebrate our future STEM talent in the state.

The program recognizes outstanding students across the state who are inspired by STEM and dedicated to pursuing a STEM career pathway in postsecondary education and beyond, and it also raises awareness of companies in Missouri for future career opportunities.

Whether graduating high school seniors seek to work on the latest technologies in the manufacturing space, do cutting edge research to improve the food and drugs we need, or join the medical field to save lives and keep us healthy, Missouri STEM Signing Day is about them.

2023 Eligibility & Application Process

  • High school students graduating in 2023 planning to pursue a STEM program at a 2-year, 4-year or technical college in the Fall of 2023 are eligible to apply.
  • Applications must be submitted by March 15, 2023 on MyScholarship Central.
  • Applications will be evaluated on the basis of passion for STEM learning, advancing society through STEM, high school activity involvement and scholarship.
  • Representatives from the Missouri Chamber and corporate sponsors on the selection committee will determine recipients in early April. 
  • Finalists will be asked to submit a brief video (approximately 1-2 minutes in length) on what inspires them to purse a STEM pathway. Videos can be filmed on a camera, cell phone camera, or other recording device. Video submissions will be due on April 1, 2023.
  • Awards will be formally announced on Friday, April 28, 2023. Both in-person and virtual events will take place to celebrate the awardees and recognize other outstanding STEM students statewide.


Jaylana Ahmetspahic – Parkway South HS – University of Health Science & Pharmacy in St. Louis – Pre-Pharmacy
Javon Armstrong – Riverview Gardens High School – Harris-Stowe State University – Biological Sciences

Dalton Berhorst – Canton High School – State Technical College of Missouri – Electrical Distributions

Rayan Bouchama – Battle High School – University of Missouri-St. Louis – Biology with Pre-Medicine Focus

Aaliyah Brooks – McCluer North High School – St. Louis Community College Florissant Valley – Architecture

Benjamin Byrd– Troy Buchanan HS – University of Missouri- Columbia – Animal Science with a Pre-Veterinarian Track

Alejandro Espinoza – Gateway STEM High School – St. Louis Community College Forest Park – Chemistry

Haley Hunsel – Troy Buchanan High School – University of Missouri – Columbia – Bio-Chemistry

Vahdet Karatas – Gateway Science Academy – Washington University in St. Louis – Engineering

Leonia Konde – Gateway STEM High School – Saint Louis University or UMSL – Physical Therapy

Samara Lewis – Midway High School – University of Missouri- Columbia – Nursing

Nevin Ndonwi – Metro Academic & Classical HS – Washington University in St. Louis – Software Engineering

Christian Pease – Lutheran HS North – Missouri University of Science & Technology – Mechanical Engineering

Jeannette Ramirez – Marquette HS – Missouri University of Science & Technology – Environmental Engineering

Koen Schaffer – Francis Howell North High School – University of Missouri – Columbia – Engineering

Daniel Svistun – Ozark High School – Drury University – Architecture

Ethan Vanderwert – Rock Bridge Senior High – University of Missouri – Columbia – Biology / Pre-Medicine Focus

Michael Viermann – Raymore-Peculiar Senior High – University of Missouri Kansas City – Biology / Pre-Medicine

Benjamin Wiseman – Eureka Senior High School – Saint Louis University – Bio-Chemistry

Jenna Woelfel  – Francis Howell Central High School – University of Missouri- Columbia – Biology / Pre-Medicine

2023 Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Exosphere Sponsor

Orscheln Industries logo

Stratosphere Sponsor

Pfizer blue logo.


Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development logo.
Journey to College logo
Missouri Mathematics and Science Coalition


Help us fuel tomorrow’s STEM talent today by becoming a funder.  Sponsorship levels start as low as $1,000.  To learn more about STEM Signing Day or if you are interested in becoming a sponsor for this year’s program, please contact Brian Crouse at (573) 634-3511 or by email at bcrouse@mochamber.com.


Related Resources