

### 2024

# **BUSINESS CHAMPIONS**

The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry is proud to recognize the following lawmakers as Business Champions during the 2024 Legislative Session. Their work is helping build a better business climate by growing the economy, improving public safety and ensuring access to quality health care and hospitals.

The Business Champions list was created after an analysis of key votes on important business issues. To be included, legislators needed to have at least a **70%** record of siding with the Missouri Chamber on priority issues.

#### PRIORITY:

#### **ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT**

Without a competitive business climate, Missouri cannot become a leader in economic prosperity. During the 2024 legislative session, the Missouri Chamber supported an expansion of the MOBUCK\$ program, an important economic driver for Missouri small businesses, farmers and local governments. Lawmakers also passed legislation to support entrepreneurship and innovation in our state and incentivize investors to finance small businesses in rural areas.



# PRIORITY: **PUBLIC SAFETY**

After years of dramatically rising statewide crime rates, the Missouri Chamber has elevated public safety to the forefront of legislative discussion. Lawmakers took action to address this complex issue by establishing new penalties for reckless celebratory gunfire, enacting tougher criminal penalties for repeat and violent offenders, and easing the record expungement process for minor, non-violent offenses.



Lawmakers were able to renew the Federal Reimbursement
Allowance, or FRA, program, despite efforts to block this critical
legislation. The FRA program is an essential funding mechanism
for sustaining health care services across our state. Renewing
the FRA program through 2029 will help keep hospitals
open in both rural and urban areas and ensure Missouri's
continued economic and physical health.

#### Missouri Senate

Lauren Arthur Jason Bean Doug Beck

Mike Bernskoetter

Rusty Black
Justin Brown
Mike Cierpiot
Sandy Crawford
Karla Eslinger
Travis Fitzwater
Elaine Gannon
Lincoln Hough
Tony Luetkemeyer

Karla May
Tracy McCreery
Angela Mosley
Cindy O'Laughlin
John Rizzo
Steven Roberts
Caleb Rowden

Holly Thompson Rehder

**Curtis Trent** 

Barbara Washington

**Brian Williams** 

Being named as a Business Champion does not constitute an endorsement by the Missouri Chamber.



### **Missouri House of Representatives**

Bill Allen
Phil Amato
Ashley Aune
Brad Banderman
Gretchen Bangert
Jerome Barnes
John Black
Gary Bonacker
Bob Bromley
Chris Brown
Donnie Brown
Paula Brown
Richard Brown

Cyndi Buchheit-Courtway

Jamie Burger Michael Burton Danny Busick Steve Butz Tricia Byrnes **David Casteel Brad Christ** Phil Christofanelli Bennie Cook **Aaron Crossley Scott Cupps** Dane Diehl Chris Dinkins **David Evans** Bill Falkner Jeff Farnan **Betsy Foale** 

Sherri Gallick
Kurtis Gregory
Dave Griffith
Kent Haden
Mike Haffner
Willard Haley
Wendy Hausman
Stephanie Hein
Mike Henderson
Justin Hicks
Dave Hinman
Dan Houx
Barry Hovis
Josh Hurlbert

**Rick Francis** 

Keri Ingle Jamie Johnson Doyle Justus Jim Kalberloh Ann Kelley

Hannah Kelly

Jeff Knight
Ed Lewis
Chris Lonsdale
Ian Mackey
Kyle Marquart
Don Mayhew
Peggy McGaugh
Herman Morse
Jim Murphy
Jeff Myers

Maggie Nurrenbern Michael O'Donnell Philip Oehlerking

Bill Owen Cameron Parker Jonathan Patterson

**Chad Perkins** Tara Peters Barbara Phifer Dean Plocher **Brad Pollitt** Sean Pouche Crystal Quade Rodger Reedy Renee Reuter Louis Riggs Alex Riley Lane Roberts Bruce Sassmann **Robert Sauls** Jim Schulte **Brian Seitz Greq Sharpe** 

Brenda Shields

Cody Smith

Travis Smith

Mike Stephens Melanie Stinnett Kemp Strickler Del Taylor Tim Taylor Lisa Thomas Terry Thompson Dean Van Schoiack

Rudy Veit
John Voss
Ken Waller
Emily Weber
Travis Wilson
Eric Woods
Dale Wright

Votes in **support** of the following bills were considered in determining the 2024 list of Business Champions.

HOUSE/ SENATE VOTE	BILL NUMBER / ISSUE	VOTE DATE
House	SB 748: Renewal of Federal Reimbursement Allowance to sustain health care services	5/15/24
Senate		5/9/24
Senate		4/30/24
Senate	SB 745: Indexing unemployment benefits	2/21/24
House	SB 754: Public safety package including increased sentencing standards for repeat violent offenders and creation of Blair's Law	5/17/24
Senate		3/7/24
House	SB 802: Incentivizing investment in rural small businesses	5/17/24
Senate		3/7/24
House	SB 872: Expanding broadband capacity and making the energy grid stronger	5/17/24
Senate		4/4/24
House	SB 894: Supporting entrepreneurship and innovation	5/17/24
Senate		4/4/24
House	HB 1488: Child care tax credit package	2/8/24
House	HB 1659: Public safety omnibus package	2/19/24
House	HB 1803: Expanding MOBUCK\$ program for economic development	2/19/24
Senate		4/18/24
House	HB 1912: Reducing the complexity of Missouri's tax laws	5/9/24
Senate		5/8/24
House	HB 2002: Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education budget including grants to child care facilities	5/10/24
Senate		5/9/24
House	HB 2003: Dept. of Higher Education and Workforce Development budget including Fast Track funding	5/10/24
Senate		5/9/24
House	HB 2004: MoDOT budget including I-44 expansion funding	5/10/24
Senate		5/9/24
House	HB 2005: Department of Public Safety budget	5/10/24
Senate		5/9/24
House	HB 2007: Dept. of Economic Development budget including funding for upskill credential program	5/10/24
Senate		5/9/24
House	HB 2599: Embracing innovation for certain transactions	4/22/24
House	HB 2763: Leveling the legal climate related to pesticide labeling	4/24/24