Missouri Business Headlines

Missouri Chamber fights to protect public employees’ paychecks

Posted on

The Missouri House has given final passage to House Bill 1891.  This is the final step needed to send the legislation to Gov. Nixon’s desk for signature. Earlier this week, the Missouri Senate debated for more than seven hours before passing the legislation.

rheder“A politician that uses taxpayer funds for personal political campaigns can be sent to jail.  Yet, current Missouri law allows thousands in taxpayers’ dollars to go to political campaigns every year unchecked, siphoned off of public employees’ paychecks in the form of union dues,” said Missouri Chamber president Dan Mehan.

House Bill 1891 would end the practice of taxpayers’ dollars going to political campaigns every year from public employees’ paychecks, and would provide public employees “paycheck protection,” barring public employee unions from automatically withholding dues from employees.

The bill is sponsored by Rep. Holly Rehder, a Sikeston Republican and handled by Sen. Dan Brown, a Republican from Rolla.

The bill passed the Senate by a vote of 23-8, which is enough to override a veto of the governor. The House TAFP vote is also veto-proof.  The bill was given final approval by the House of Representatives by a vote of 109-49.

“Employees have a right to say what is taken out of their paychecks for political campaigns; just like each year employees have the option to choose how much is withdrawn to go to organizations like United Way or how much money is taken out of their paychecks for their Cafeteria or 401K plans,” said Mehan. “The legislation doesn’t keep an employee from making a contribution, but it gives that employee the choice.”

How They Voted

AYES – 109
Alferman(R); Allen(R); Anderson(R); Andrews(R); Austin(R); Bahr(R); Barnes(R); Basye(R); Beard(R); Bernskoetter(R); Berry(R); Bondon(R); Brattin(R); Brown-57(R); Brown-94(R); Burlison(R); Chipman(R); Cierpiot(R); Conway-104(R); Cookson(R); Corlew(R); Cornejo(R); Crawford(R); Cross(R); Curtis(D); Curtman(R); Davis(R); Dogan(R); Dohrman(R); Dugger(R); Eggleston(R); Engler(R); Entlicher(R); Fitzpatrick(R); Fitzwater-144(R); Fitzwater-49(R); Flanigan(R); Fraker(R); Franklin(R); Frederick(R); Haahr(R); Haefner(R); Hansen(R); Higdon(R); Hill(R); Hinson(R); Hoskins(R); Hough(R); Houghton(R); Hubrecht(R); Hurst(R); Johnson(R); Jones(R); Justus(R); Keeney(R); Kelley(R); King(R); Koenig(R); Kolkmeyer(R); Korman(R); Lair(R); Lant(R); Lauer(R); Lichtenegger(R); Love(R); Lynch(R); Mathews(R); McCaherty(R); McDaniel(R); McGaugh(R); Messenger(R); Miller(R); Moon(R); Morris(R); Muntzel(R); Neely(R); Parkinson(R); Pfautsch(R); Phillips(R); Pietzman(R); Pike(R); Plocher(R); Pogue(R); Redmon(R); Rehder(R); Reiboldt(R); Remole(R); Rhoads(R); Richardson(R); Roden(R); Roeber(R); Rone(R); Ross(R); Rowden(R); Rowland-155(R); Shaul(R); Shull(R); Shumake(R); Solon(R); Sommer(R); Spencer(R); Swan(R); Taylor(R); Vescovo(R); Walker(R); White(R); Wiemann(R); Wilson(R); Wood(R)

NAYS – 49
Adams(D); Anders(D); Arthur(D); Burns(D); Butler(D); Carpenter(D); Colona(D); Conway-10(D); Dunn(D); Ellington(D); English(I); Gannon(R); Gardner(D); Green(D); Harris(D); Hicks(R); Hubbard(D); Hummel(D); Kidd(R); Kirkton(D); Kratky(D); LaFaver(D); Lavender(D); Leara(R); Marshall(R); May(D); McCann Beatty(D); McCreery(D); McGee(D); McNeil(D); Mims(D); Mitten(D); Montecillo(D); Morgan(D); Newman(D); Nichols(D); Norr(D); Otto(D); Pace(D); Peters(D); Pierson(D); Rizzo(D); Rowland-29(D); Runions(D); Ruth(R); Smith(D); Walton Gray(D); Webber(D); Zerr(R)

Black(R); Kendrick(D); McDonald(D); Meredith(D)


« Back to News