Missouri Business Headlines

Paycheck protection legislation passes in House 

Posted on

The Missouri House took a huge step forward in protecting the paychecks of state workers by passing House Bill 1891, sponsored by Rep. Holly Rehder, a Sikeston Republican. Current Missouri law allows thousands in taxpayers’ dollars to go to political campaigns every year unchecked, siphoned off of public employees’ paychecks in the form of union dues.

HB 1891 would end that practice and would provide public employees “paycheck protection,” barring public employee unions from automatically withholding dues from employees.

This legislation would require public employee labor unions to get annual written permission from each employee before withholding union dues or using those dues for political purposes.

First responders are exempt from HB 1891 because of a compromise that was added during 2013 debate of similar legislation that was passed. Gov. Jay Nixon vetoed that bill.

The bill passed through the House by a vote of 110-47 and has been sent to the senate for consideration.

For more information on this issue, contact Brian Bunten, Missouri Chamber general counsel at bbunten@mochamber.com, or by phone at 573.634.3511.

How They Voted:

AYES – 110
Alferman(R); Allen(R); Anderson(R); Andrews(R); Austin(R); Bahr(R); Barnes(R); Basye(R); Beard(R); Bernskoetter(R); Berry(R); Bondon(R); Brattin(R); Brown-57(R); Brown-94(R); Burlison(R); Chipman(R); Cierpiot(R); Conway-104(R); Cookson(R); Corlew(R); Cornejo(R); Crawford(R); Cross(R); Curtis(D); Curtman(R); Davis(R); Dogan(R); Dohrman(R); Dugger(R); Eggleston(R); Engler(R); Entlicher(R); Fitzpatrick(R); Fitzwater-144(R); Fitzwater-49(R); Flanigan(R); Fraker(R); Franklin(R); Frederick(R); Haahr(R); Haefner(R); Hansen(R); Higdon(R); Hill(R); Hinson(R); Hoskins(R); Hough(R); Houghton(R); Hubrecht(R); Hurst(R); Johnson(R); Jones(R); Justus(R); Keeney(R); Kelley(R); King(R); Koenig(R); Kolkmeyer(R); Korman(R); Lair(R); Lant(R); Lauer(R); Lichtenegger(R); Love(R); Lynch(R); Mathews(R); McCaherty(R); McDaniel(R); McGaugh(R); Messenger(R); Miller(R); Moon(R); Morris(R); Muntzel(R); Neely(R); Parkinson(R); Pfautsch(R); Phillips(R); Pietzman(R); Pike(R); Plocher(R); Pogue(R); Redmon(R); Rehder(R); Reiboldt(R); Remole(R); Rhoads(R); Richardson(R); Roden(R); Roeber(R); Rone(R); Ross(R); Rowden(R); Rowland-155(R); Shaul(R); Shull(R); Shumake(R); Solon(R); Sommer(R); Spencer(R); Swan(R); Taylor(R); Vescovo(R); Walker(R); White(R); Wiemann(R); Wilson(R); Wood(R); Zerr(R)

NAYS – 47
Adams(D); Anders(D); Arthur(D); Black(R); Burns(D); Butler(D); Carpenter(D); Colona(D); Conway-10(D); Ellington(D); English(I); Gannon(R); Gardner(D); Green(D); Harris(D); Hicks(R); Hummel(D); Kendrick(D); Kidd(R); Kirkton(D); Kratky(D); LaFaver(D); Lavender(D); Leara(R); Marshall(R); McCann Beatty(D); McCreery(D); McNeil(D); Meredith(D); Mims(D); Mitten(D); Montecillo(D); Morgan(D); Newman(D); Nichols(D); Norr(D); Otto(D); Pace(D); Peters(D); Pierson(D); Rizzo(D); Rowland-29(D); Runions(D); Ruth(R); Smith(D); Walton Gray(D); Webber(D)

Statistics provided by GovWatch.


« Back to News