Missouri Business Headlines

The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry reports lawmakers’ grades from the 2016 Legislative Session

Posted on

The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry has released its 2016 Legislative Vote Ratings. This annual ranking provides the business community with a measure of how lawmakers voted on a comprehensive list of important economic issues in the regular 2016 Legislative Session.

To compile this tool, the Missouri Chamber selected the most critical votes of the legislative session, weighed the votes based on their importance to Missouri employers, and established a rating for each Missouri legislator.  The bills were chosen based on the Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s legislative priorities, which are set by policy councils made up of business owners and executives from around the state.  The priorities are then approved by the organization’s board of directors.  The votes cover a wide spectrum, including education, tax, workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, economic development, tort, employment law, and labor policy.

“There were many important votes cast in the regular 2016 Legislative Session, providing lawmakers with a clear choice between supporting employers and job creation or not,” said Daniel P. Mehan, Missouri Chamber president and CEO.  “This ranking gives us a strong tool to delineate which legislators are committed to protecting Missouri’s business climate, and which legislators are working against that goal.”

Missouri Representatives who earned a 100 percent rating in 2016 include:  Rep. Kevin Austin (Springfield), Rep. Lyndall Fraker (Marshfield), Mike Kelley (Lamar), Rep. William Lant (Pineville), Rep. Warren Love (Osceola), Rep. Donna Pfautsch (Harrisonville), Rep. Patricia Pike (Adrian), Rep. Caleb Rowden (Columbia), Rep. Lyle Rowland (Cedarcreek), and Rep. Dan Shaul (Imperial).

Missouri Senators who earned a 100 percent rating in 2016 include: Sen. Mike Cunningham (Marshfield), Sen. Bob Dixon (Springfield), Sen. Mike Kehoe (Jefferson City), Sen. Doug Libla (Poplar Bluff), Sen. Brian Munzlinger (Clarence), Sen. Ron Richard (Joplin). Sen. Jeanie Riddle (Fulton), Sen. Wayne Wallingord (Cape Girardeau), Sen. Jay Wasson (Nixa), and Sen. Paul Wieland (Imperial).

For more information on the Missouri Chamber vote records, contact Brian Bunten, Missouri Chamber general counsel, at 573-634-3511.

« Back to News