Missouri Business Headlines

House votes to protect the paychecks of Missouri public workers

Posted on

The Missouri House has voted to override Gov. Jay Nixon’s veto of House Bill 1891, legislation that protects public employees’ paychecks from mandatory union fees.  It’s now up to the Missouri Senate to determine the fate of this bill. Please contact your senator and ask him or her to support this bill.

The bill is sponsored by Rep. Holly Rehder, a Sikeston Republican, and was handled in the Senate by Sen. Dan Brown, a Republican from Rolla. Specifically, a public labor organization must receive an annual, written authorization from members before using any portion of dues, agency shop fees, or any other fees for political campaign contributions or expenditures.

A 2014 survey of union members and households in Pennsylvania, conducted by Susquehanna Polling and Research, showed that union members believe it is wrong to use taxpayer resources for political purposes and want to see this practice ended. According to the union households surveyed:

  • 80 percent don’t think taxpayer resources should be used to collect campaign contributions
  • 58 percent support paycheck protection legislation

“While union members support paycheck protection legislation, elected officials like Gov. Jay Nixon, who count on union contributions to get in office, fight hard to keep this legislation from becoming law,” said Dan Mehan, Missouri Chamber president and CEO.  “Public sector unions are among the most powerful forces in politics in Missouri, outspending almost any other political player.  And where do they get this funding?  Through forced contributions by state workers and, ultimately, taxpayers.”

The Missouri Chamber believes that the current system violates workers’ rights under the First Amendment.

“Employees have a right to say what is taken out of their paychecks for political campaigns,” Mehan said. “Workers should not lose their First Amendment rights just because they are a member of a union. This legislation doesn’t take away a workers’ ability to contribute to union political activity, but it gives workers the choice.”

The Missouri Chamber appreciates the leadership of the Missouri House for taking action on this important bill.

How They Voted:

AYES – 109

Alferman(R); Allen(R); Anderson(R); Andrews(R); Austin(R); Bahr(R); Barnes(R); Basye(R); Beard(R); Bernskoetter(R); Berry(R); Bondon(R); Brattin(R); Brown-57(R); Brown-94(R); Burlison(R); Chipman(R); Cierpiot(R); Conway-104(R); Cookson(R); Corlew(R); Cornejo(R); Crawford(R); Cross(R); Curtis(D); Curtman(R); Davis(R); Dogan(R); Dohrman(R); Dugger(R); Eggleston(R); Engler(R); Entlicher(R); Fitzpatrick(R); Fitzwater-144(R); Fitzwater-49(R); Flanigan(R); Fraker(R); Franklin(R); Frederick(R); Haahr(R); Haefner(R); Hansen(R); Hicks(R); Hill(R); Hinson(R); Hoskins(R); Hough(R); Houghton(R); Hubrecht(R); Hurst(R); Johnson(R); Jones(R); Justus(R); Keeney(R); Kelley(R); Koenig(R); Kolkmeyer(R); Korman(R); Lair(R); Lant(R); Lauer(R); Leara(R); Lichtenegger(R); Love(R); Lynch(R); Mathews(R); McCaherty(R); McDaniel(R); McGaugh(R); Messenger(R); Miller(R); Moon(R); Morris(R); Muntzel(R); Neely(R); Parkinson(R); Pfautsch(R); Phillips(R); Pietzman(R); Pike(R); Plocher(R); Pogue(R); Redmon(R); Rehder(R); Reiboldt(R); Remole(R); Rhoads(R); Richardson(R); Roden(R); Roeber(R); Rone(R); Ross(R); Rowden(R); Rowland-155(R); Shaul(R); Shull(R); Shumake(R); Solon(R); Sommer(R); Spencer(R); Swan(R); Taylor(R); Vescovo(R); Walker(R); White(R); Wiemann(R); Wilson(R); Wood(R)

NAYS – 47

Adams(D); Anders(D); Arthur(D); Burns(D); Butler(D); Carpenter(D); Colona(D); Conway-10(D); Dunn(D); English(I); Gannon(R); Gardner(D); Green(D); Harris(D); Higdon(R); Hubbard(D); Kendrick(D); Kidd(R); King(R); Kirkton(D); Kratky(D); LaFaver(D); Lavender(D); Marshall(R); May(D); McCann Beatty(D); McGee(D); McNeil(D); Meredith(D); Mims(D); Mitten(D); Montecillo(D); Morgan(D); Newman(D); Nichols(D); Norr(D); Otto(D); Pace(D); Peters(D); Pierson(D); Rizzo(D); Rowland-29(D); Runions(D); Ruth(R); Walton Gray(D); Webber(D); Zerr(R)



Black(R); Ellington(D); Hummel(D); McCreery(D); McDonald(D); Smith(D)


« Back to News